• thebackdoorgaa

Tipperary claim the spoils in Thurles.

Via the Journal

Tipperary 2-12 Wicklow 1-12 By Fergal O’Brien. Tipperary got the job done in Semple Stadium this afternoon to put themselves back in contention for a semi final spot in Division three South. The defeat leaves Wicklow with a must win encounter in their final game with Limerick to stand any chance of qualifying. Seanie Furlong fisted Wicklow in front early on before four points in succession from Tipperary settled them into the contest. However Wicklow weren’t to be deterred and kicked five points in a row of their own, including a lovely solo score into the town end of Semple Stadium off the boot of midfielder Podge O’Toole. Wicklow were well on top at this point, however marksman for Tipperary Conor Sweeney goaled just after the water break to regain the initiative for Tipperary.The opening half concluded with the sides level at 1-04 to 0-07 with Wicklow failing to make their dominance count on the scoreboard. The stop-start nature of the contest continued after the resumption with frees being the order of the day, with Wicklow keeper Mark Jackson kicking two pointed frees off the deck. However Wicklow playing out from the back would be their downfall as corner back Nicky Devereux was dispossessed and Tipperary duly punished with a well taken goal from former Dublin footballer Phillip Ryan putting Tipperary in complete control of the tie. That second goal was a big moment in the game as was a huge goal chance that went begging for Wicklow in the 56th minute when wing forward Conor Byrne blasted wide. The wind was taken out of Wicklow’s sails from there on in, as Tipperary, the far fitter outfit, saw out the game despite a consolation penalty from Wicklow full forward Seanie Furlong which resulted in a second yellow card for Tipperary wing back Emmett Maloney. Tipperary ran out three point winners in the end and now face Offaly in Tullamore in the final round, while Wicklow take on Limerick needing a win to stand any chance of progression in the group. Tipperary: Michael O’Reilly, Alan Campbell, Jimmy Feehan, Colm O’Shaughnessy, Emmett Maloney, Paudie Feehan, Conor Bowe, Steven O’Brien, Conal Kennedy, Jason Lonergan, Colman Kennedy, Brian Fox, Phillip Ryan, Conor Sweeney, Sean O’Connor. Wicklow: Mark Jackson, Nicky Devereux, Ross O’Brien, Oisin Manning, Andy Maher, Niall Donnelly, Dave Devereux, Podge O’Toole, Dean Healy, Darragh Fitzgerald, Mark Kenny, Conor Byrne, Eoin Darcy, Seanie Furlong, JP Hurley. Referee: Seamus Mulvihall Man of the Match : Steven O’Brien.

14 views0 comments