• thebackdoorgaa

NHL Division 2A: Kildare show no sign of complacency against Donegal

Kildare-4-29 - 0-14-Donegal

By Matthew Hurley at St Conleths Park

Christy Ring Cup Champions Kildare opened their Allianz Hurling League campaign with an easy win over a hapless Donegal side in Newbridge. The game showed the huge difference in class between the Christy Ring and Nicky Rackard Cups.

It was a bright opening from the Lillywhite’s, one where they led by 0-5 to 0 inside 15 minutes. Brian Byrne started well on free taking duty as his side moved 6 points ahead going into the first water break, as the Ulster failed to register a score from play. By the time Donegal bucked that trend, the score was 1-12 to 0-4, which tells its own story.

The goal for the Leinster side came from a James Burke penalty, after having his first penalty saved by Luke White earlier in the first half. He put away his second attempt with ease and with Donegal having a man in the sinbin and being behind by 10 points at half time, it was one way traffic then.

Winning by a huge margin at the break enabled the Lillywhite’s to express themselves in the second half, scoring 3 more goals in the process. David Herity could even afford to bring star man Byrne off 10 minutes from time. Goals from Burke again, Johnny Byrne and Conor Dowling sealed the deal for the Leinster side, who started their campaign with a bang. For Donegal, it’s back down to earth after the Roscommon victory last weekend.

Kildare: P McKenna, C Derivan, R Boran, S Leacy, K Whelan, D Flaherty (0-1), S Christanseen, Cathal Dowling, P Divilly (0-3), K Aherne (0-3), J Byrne (1-3), J Burke (2-1, 1p), T Forde, S Ryan, B Byrne (0-11, 7f,2’65).

Subs: C Chan for Dowling ’46, Conor Dowling (1-1,1f) for Ryan ’48, C Forde for Whelan ’54, C Smith (0-3) for Burke ’56, S Whelan (0-2) for Divilly ’58, C Kielty (0-1) for B Byrne ’59, J Dolan for Flaherty ‘60

Donegal: L White, G Browne, S Gillespie, M Callaghan, C McDermott, S McVeigh, M O’Donoghue, D Coulter (0-7,7f), C Matthewson (0-2,2f), D Cullen (0-3), R Ryan, J O’Loughlin, B Lafferty, R McDermott, G Gilmore.

Subs: P Doherty for Browne ‘HT, J Connolly for B Lafferty ’50, N Cleary (0-1) for O’Donoghue ’51, C O’Grady for McDermott ’51, R Campbell for Ryan ’56, O Grant for Coulter ’59, D Duffy for Gilmore ‘66

25 views0 comments