• thebackdoorgaa

NHL Division 2B: Kildare earn promotion

Kildare remained unbeaten in their league campaign this year as they were crowned champions of Division 2B earlier today. The only team to have a positive points difference in their league table, they will feel that 2A will be more up to their standard next year.

Derry 1-26 - 0-14 Roscommon

Derry put bottom place Roscommon to the sword this afternoon. They were in control all game and secured their place in 2B for next year with their second win of the campaign. Cormac O’Doherty was comfortable from the placed ball, scoring six points from frees, adding four from play. The hosts led by eight points at half time and cruised through the second half. A Gerald Bradley goal with fifteen minutes remaining put the icing on the cake and they tacked on four more points to retain their Division 2B status for next year.

Kildare 2-24 - 1-19 Mayo

A David Slattery goal on the stroke of half time may have saved Kildare’s blushes as they looked to be on their way to their first defeat of the league in 2021. Mayo looked like they would be heading in at the break eight points up, Keith Higgins keeping the scoreboard ticking over with his frees and Sean Regan’s early goal separating the teams. Kildare came bursting out of the blocks at half time, hitting six unanswered points, three each for James Burke and Jack Sheridan. Keith Higgins slotted over a free for Mayo before Kildare hit another six points without reply. They were a team possessed, Jack Sheridan pinpoint in front of the posts while a late Conor Dowling goal sealed the win, the trophy and the promotion.

10 views0 comments