• thebackdoorgaa

NFL Division 3 South: Limerick do enough against Tipperary

Limerick 1-13 - 0-14Tipperary

By Paul Shaughnessy

A spirited second half performance from Limerick got the better of Tipperary in the opening round of the NFL Division 3 South in the Gaelic Grounds.

Tipperary started brightly racing into a four point lead in the first quarter with Steven O'Brien, Sean O'Connor and two Connor Sweeney placed balls on target for David Power's side. Limerick were hanging in but continuously kept giving possession away. On 17 minutes the home side finally registered their first score courtesy of Darragh Treacy. On 22 minutes the lively Sean O'Connor made no mistake from his second mark of the day for the reigning Munster champions pushing them 0-5 - 0-01. It looked like it was going to be one way traffic from then on.

The Treaty county regrouped and were patient in their approach on breaking down the Tipperary defence holding onto the ball for long periods and worked the next three points of the first half from Tony McCarthy and Two neat points from sharpshooter Hugh Bourke leaving two points between the sides at the break.

Billy Lee's side came out a different side in the second half and raced ahead 1-05 - 0-06. Limerick dispatched a brilliant goal where Danny Neville smashed the ball into the top left hand corner of the net. Last years Division 4 side began to hit their purple patch where Hugh Bourke and the lively Danny Neville added further points to have Limerick leading 1-08 - 0-06.

The victors led 1-10 - 0-08 with 15 minutes remaining. David Power was getting frustrated as unforced errors were costing his side. Tipp showed character and landed points from Steven O'Brien, Sean O'Connor and the pick of those points coming from Conal Kennedy who landed a spectacular point from the outside of his boot. It was beginning to become the Danny Neville and Hugh Bourke show as they got their name on the scoreboard once again to have the home side leading by five points.

Two frees from Jack Kennedy and free form Jack Kennedy narrowed the gap for Tipp but that was as good as it got for them as Limerick got over the line.

Scorers for Limerick: Danny Neville 1-3, Hugh Bourke 0-6 (0-3 frees), Brian Donovan 0-2, Tony McCarthy 0-1, Darragh Treacy 0-1.

Scorers for Tipperary: Conor Sweeney 0-4 (0-4 frees), Sean O’Connor 0-4 (0-2 marks), Steven O’Brien 0-2, Jack Kennedy 0-2 (0-1 free), Michael O’Reilly 0-1 (0-1 ’45), Conal Kennedy 0-1.


1. Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen)

2. Sean O’Dea (Kilteely Dromkeen), 3. Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen), 17. Michael Donovan (Galbally).

5. Tony McCarthy (Kildimo Pallaskenry), 6. Robert Childs (Galtee Gaels), 7. Gordon Brown (Na Piarsaigh).

8. Darragh Treacy (St. Kierans), 9. Tommie Childs (Galtee Gaels).

22. Adrian Enright (Fr Caseys), 11. Cillian Fahy (Dromcollogher Broadford), 10. Cian Sheehan (Newcastle West).

12. Tommy Griffin (Gerald Griffins), 14. Danny Neville (Ballysteen), 15. Hugh Bourke (Adare).


18. Iain Corbett (Newcastle West) for Griffin, half-time

23. Brian Donovan (Monaleen) for Enright, half-time

4. Paul Maher (Adare) for Brown (57)

21. Seamus O’Carroll (Castleknock) for Sheehan (62


1. Michael O’Reilly (Clonmel Commercials)

2. Tadhg Fitzgerald (Moyle Rovers), 3. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule), 4. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan).

5. Emmet Moloney (Drom & Inch), 6. Paudie Feehan (Killenaule), 7. Jack Harney (Moyle Rovers).

8. Steven O’Brien (Ballina), 9. Conal Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials).

10. Jason Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials), 11. Colman Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials), 12. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarthy Donohill).

13. Liam Boland (Moyle Rovers), 14. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen), 15. Sean O’Connor (Clonmel Commercials).


18. Dáire Brennan (Kilsheelan Kilcash) for Harney (41)

21. Shane Foley (Moyle Rovers) for Fitzgerald (56)

22. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials) for Boland (56)

19. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers) for O’Shaughnessy (56)

24. Stephan Quirke (Moyle Rovers) for Lonergan (66)

23. Padraic Looram (Clonmel Commercials) for Moloney (70)

9 views0 comments