• thebackdoorgaa

Mayo comfortably dispatch Sligo

Sligo 0-12

Mayo 3-23

Darragh Walsh

Mayo opened the game’s scoring in the first minute as Darren McHale marked his championship debut with an early point. Niall Murphy replied at the other end of the field with a fisted point. A further couple of singles from McHale, along with points from Tommy Conroy and Ryan O’Donoghue gave Mayo a four point lead but this was to be further extended when Aidan O’Shea found the net on eleven minutes. The powerful full forward punished a turnover in the Sligo fullback line by powering through the Sligo defence and placing the ball into the top right corner of the net.

After going twelve minutes without a score Murphy scored Sligo’s second of the game. Durcan added another point before Murphy rattled Rob Hennelly’s crossbar. Conroy added a fine individual single to end the first quarter of play with eight points between the teams.

Sean Carrabine scored quickly after the restart with a good score off his left boot. His opposite number O’Donoghue added his second of the game for Mayo as O’Shea and Jordan Flynn scored their first points of the game. O’Shea found the net for the second time after 24 minutes as Mayo punished a poor Sligo kick out. O’Shea added a further single before Sligo fired over a long distance point from Liam Gaughan and this was quickly added to with a point from Murphy.

McHale added 1-1 in a couple of minutes as he firstly followed up on Tommy Conroy’s saved shot on goal to finish the ball into an empty net before scoring his fourth point of the first half. O’Donoghue converted his second free kick before Sligo gave a great display of scoring from long range. Carrabine, Keelan Cawley and Patrick O’Connor all scored points from long range to end the first half leaving 14 points between the sides.

Sligo restarted the game quickly as Mikey Gordon raised a white flag after only 25 seconds. Mayo replied through a converted O’Donoghue free and another single from the boot of McHale. Murphy replied for Sligo from a free but Fergal Boland instantly added a point for Mayo when he entered the game from the bench. Eoghan McLaughlin and O’Donoghue added a point each before the whistle sounded for the second water break.

Conor Loftus scored a couple of singles and McLaughlin, Stephen Coen and added points as the game entered the final ten minutes of the contest. Murphy added a further couple of points but it was James Carr that scored the final point of the game to leave Mayo the victors on a score line of 3-23 to 0-12.

Sligo: Éamonn Kilgannon, Karl McKenna, Eddie McGuinness, Ryan Feehily, Paul McNamara, Peter Laffey, Nathan Mullen, Paul Kilcoyne, Paddy O’Connor, Mikey Gordon, Barry Gorman, David Quinn, Seán Carrabine, Niall Murphy, Liam Gaughan. Subs Used: Evan Lyons for McKenna, Keelan Cawley for Gaughan, Red Óg Murphy for Laffey, Conor Griffin for Gordon, Cian Lalley for Cawley.

Mayo: Rob Hennelly, Enda Hession, Oisin Mullin, Lee Keegan, Michael Plunkett, Paddy Durcan, Eoghan McLaughlin, Mathew Ruane, Conor Loftus, Kevin McLoughlin, Darren McHale, Jordan Flynn, Tommy Conroy, Aidan O’Shea, Ryan O’Donoghue. Subs Used: Fergal Boland for Flynn, Padraig O’Hora for Keegan, Stephen Coen for Durcan, Paul Towey for O’Donoghue.

Sligo: Niall Murphy 0-6(0-1f), Seán Carrabine 0-2, Liam Gaughan, Keelan Cawley, Patrick O’Connor, Mikey Gordon 0-1 each.

Mayo: Aidan O’Shea 2-2, Darren McHale 1-5, Ryan O’Donoghue 0-5(0-4f), Eoghan McLaughlin, Conor Loftus, Tommy Conroy 0-2 each, Paddy Durcan, Jordan Flynn, Fergal Boland, Stephen Coen, James Carr 0-1 each.

5 views0 comments